When you think you might be blocked by someone, it can be confusing. You could be messaging someone often and then find they’re suddenly not in your friends list. However, this could also be because they’ve deleted their account. So, how to know if someone blocked you on Snapchat? Here are some clues to help you find out.
3 Ways to Tell if You’ve Been Blocked on Snapchat
Snapchat has around 375 million daily active users and so some of them, you might want to block! Like all social media apps, Snapchat won’t notify a person they’ve blocked. While this might be useful when you’re the one doing the blocking, it can be frustrating if you’re on the receiving end of a potential blocking. So, how do you know if you’re blocked on Snapchat? Here are three ways to find out.
Check Recent Conversations
If you have a suspicion that you’ve been blocked and you’ve chatted to someone in the past, you might be able to get answers by scrolling through your chat history. To check this way, follow these steps:
- Log into your Snapchat account.
- Select the speech bubble to go into chats.
- If the person doesn’t show up (and you know you have chatted to them before), this could be a sign you’ve been blocked.
- If they are there and you can tap their name, try to send them a message.
- If it fails to send, this is another sign you could be blocked.
Search Their Name From a Different Account
Another way how to know if someone blocked you on Snapchat or deleted their account is by searching for their name from a different Snapchat account.
If you’ve tried searching on your own list and they don’t appear, it could be a sign you’re blocked. It could mean something else though, so this isn’t a certain answer. If you ask a friend to search for them and they can see them, this means you’ve been blocked.
Search Their Username or Full Name
If you have been blocked by someone on Snapchat, you won’t see their account when you search for it. You can check for this by using the search function. Look for the magnifying glass and select it. Then enter the person’s username or real name. If their name doesn’t show, it could be a sign that they have blocked you. However, it could also be a sign that they have deleted Snapchat and deactivated their account. This might be a good time to ask someone else to search for them too.
How Do I Mute Someone on Snapchat?
If you’re not ready to block someone, but they’re being a bit too much, Snapchat has another useful feature that allows you to mute someone. This means you won’t be notified when they send you a message. You can also mute Snapchat stories for specific people of your choosing. Here’s how to do it:
- Open the Snapchat app and tap ‘chat’.
- Select and hold the friend’s conversation that you want to mute the notifications of.
- Select ‘chat settings.’
- Swipe the button next to ‘message notifications’ to turn it off. It’s also possible to turn off the notifications for Game and Mini too.
- Select ‘done.’
What Happens When You Block Someone on Snapchat?
So, we’ve covered how to know if someone blocked you on Snapchat, but it’s also useful to know what happens when you block someone too. When you block someone, Snapchat does a few things. Firstly, the whole chat history between you and the person will disappear. The person who is blocked can access the history and try to send you a message, but it won’t be able to send, and you won’t receive it. The messages will appear on their screen, but will go ‘unread.’ The blocked person can’t see your stories and won’t be able to find your account at all. You’ll also not be on each other’s friend lists anymore. However, there won’t be any notifications sent to say someone’s been blocked, which is a good thing!
Knowing if you’ve been blocked on Snapchat can give you the answers you need. If you’re still not sure and none of these methods have proved definitive, you might want to contact them another way and ask them outright. That takes a bit of guts, though!